newbie saying hi

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andy Holmes

Dabbler
Hi there,

Im a unix engineer who is finally biting the bullet and getting a decent nas setup for home use (media sharing, plex, mysql, pc/mobile backups and some virtual hosts). I asked at work and they havent a spare netapp available for me, so im building one from scratch based on an i3-2100 cpu and probably 12Gb ram (non-ECC sorry). I have a 4tb external USB drive which im hoping to use as a backup to my nas. Unfortunately I only have one WD 4tb red drive so ill have to initially configure as a single disk stripe, it appears. Hopefully ill upgrade to a second drive soonish so ill get another drive of the same model and create a mirrored pair, without having to recover from my external usb.
Prior to doing all of this ill make sure any valuable files are stored in multiple places on my home network.

Does this all sound *sane* please?

Also, at some point im going to use freenas to allow some iscsi attached virtual vmware servers, one of the key things for me choosing freenas.

Thanks in advance :)

Last edited:

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems
Welcome Andy.

I would take a look at cyberjock's "Hardware Recommendations" thread if you plan on building from scratch:
https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/hardware-recommendations-read-this-first.23069/

Non-ECC RAM is very strongly discouraged here due to the inherent data integrity risks. If you're willing to risk permanently losing data by not using it, it begs the question of "why are you using ZFS or any redundancy in the first place?" So we don't go there except maybe on systems that are for testing only.

If you're looking for an economical place to start, the Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 offers four drive bays, 4th-gen Intel chips, and support for up to 32GB of RAM. Excellent choice for the home user looking to store media and backups.