Newbie needs advice & guidance

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys,
Im new to all this & somewhat out of my confidence zone.

I had a recent incident where I lost 11 days of work due to my last backup being corrupt; I recovered all, but lost a bit from the 11 days.
So I had wanted a NAS for some time & this recent incident help push it forward.

I plan to back up everything I do in 6 hourly increments & when I have too many incrementals, will delete some if needed.

This will be 1 of 2 large backup sources that I intend to keep.
I have read the forum extensively, I’m not a techno guru by any means, I’ve built plenty of desktops over the years, but never NAS or server items.

I read the following articles & have based my reasoning on these following articles

https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/optimal-vdev-size.36467/

http://jrs-s.net/2015/02/06/zfs-you-should-use-mirror-vdevs-not-raidz/

https://www.delphix.com/blog/delphi...or-how-i-learned-stop-worrying-and-love-raidz

https://pthree.org/2012/12/13/zfs-administration-part-viii-zpool-best-practices-and-caveats/

My use for the box will be the following:-
I have an extensive Movie & Music collection, a lifetime of pictures, CAD files some being 2-300mb and all the regular things we all need backups of.

I purchased my components & am about reading to put it together
I was thinking I would build a single zpool of 1 vdev of 8 disks in raidz2...
Apparently 4k alignment is no longer advocated with compression?….

Here is my configuration
-Silverstone - DS380
-ASRock- C2750D4I
-Corsair SF450, modular SFX PSU
-2 x SanDisk Cruzer Fit CZ33 16GB USB
-2 x Samsung 750 EVO - 120GB
-Crucial 32GB Kit (8GBx4) DDR3/ CT102472BD160B
DDR3L-1600MT/s (PC3-12800) DR x8 ECC
-10 x Silverstone Tek 300mm Ultra Thin cables
-8 x Western Digital Green 2TB, with "wdidle3 /s300”

I have 5 x 4TB WDC Reds that in the near future will expand my initial vdev pool