New user Query

Status
Not open for further replies.

dejv

Dabbler
Hi, I am new to this

Does FreeNAS do the job I need?

- I need somewhere to store all my series/movies/music and then connect decoders to it to play them from any tv/computer in the house

- I have different pcs/laptop which I need them to sync with a nas (If I create a folder on all pcs and put everything in it and it syncs that folder is enough) not all pcs are in same location. ( I need a software to be installed on each pc for the sync to happen any recommendation? it must also work on the internet not just locally)

- On the nas I will have different folders according to the pcname it is synced to. (example folder1 - my laptop, folder 2 - my work computer, folder 3- my kid folder, folder4 - wife folder etc)

- Daily the pc backups folder is zipped (as I was told that ransom ware doesn't effect zipped folders) and it is transferred on a separate hard disk in the same machine and that zip file is stored for 5 days then gets deleted or over written

Reason: my wife just got the ransom ware virus and lost everything and now I want to sync all my pcs including my laptop which is at work.

Last edited by a moderator:

diedrichg

Wizard
Does freenas does the job I need?
Yes.

For the media you can use Plex or Emby, MiniDLNA or Subsonic.

For the backups you can use Crashplan, OwnCloud, Syncthing or BTSync. On the client side you could simply use Sync Toy if those other options are overkill.

dejv

Dabbler
Same goes to the above I use crashplan or the other software instead of FreeNAS?

Last edited by a moderator:

dejv

Dabbler
Yes.

For the media you can use Plex or Emby, MiniDLNA or Subsonic.

I install plex/emby/minidlna/subsonic as addons on freenas ?

For the backups you can use Crashplan, OwnCloud, Syncthing or BTSync. On the client side you could simply use Sync Toy if those other options are overkill.
Do I use one of the above instead of freenas or they are installed on freenas as plugins ?