New user, need guidance

bigunk

Dabbler
Okay, so I'm really a newbie here. I have built a couple of samba servers in my time and they worked well, but I wasn't able (read smart enough) to get all my drives as one array, so I eventually went with a Drobo that worked very well (for me, using BeyondRAID) and needed little effort on my part. Well Windows decided to depricate SMBv1 that Drobo uses (security issues), and Drobo Inc. has gone away, thus it's a paper weight. So now I'm back to square one. I did set up my machine with 5ea 4TB drives and a small boot drive. Cool. I followed directions and created a pool and a couple of shares (still noob-level stuff in my book). Nice. Now here's where I get confused: 5 drives with roughly 4TB each should be just shy of 20TB. When Raid of some type (like5) is set up, I would think I lose a disk for parity, and I should have about 16TB left. I only see 10TB. So either I'm doing something wrong, or I'm doing something wrong. Choose. Is there some trick I missed that will allow the capacity to show as I want it to, yet still have some safety (I'll be running backups to external drives, so extreme safety is not an issue). If I'm reading things the right way, TrueNAS does some kind of mirroring by default. Not sure if that's what I want. Anyone got thoughts and guidance on this? Hopefully you won't send me to exhaustive levels of fall-asleep documentation.

Arwen

MVP
First off, this should be a separate thread. I've made the request to Moderators to move it.

Next, without clear wording we can only guess that you used RAID-Z1, you said "When Raid of some type (like5) is set up". The real test is show us what the output of the commands below is, in CODE tags;
zpool list -v zpool status

Last, listing your complete hardware can let us help you further. On occasion, a new user makes a poor choice in hardware that can impact performance or reliability. Knowing that in advance is helpful, even if you can't, (afford to), change it.