New to TrueNAS, need help!

jschiltz

Cadet
Hi Everyone,

Not sure where to start on this.

I have no experience at all with TrueNAS or servers. My son built my wife and I a TrueNAS server last year for us to use for storage of family photos, files, etc. He unexpectedly passed away in September of last year so I don't have him around to assist me with the server. I am hoping this community will be able to.

I recently started looking into the server to try and put it to use and can't figure how to utilize it. Again, I have absolutely no experience with this. I did manage to figure out how to login to it and get to the dashboard. He had mapped the drive to my PC so I am able to see it in my file folder structure. I am not able to save anything to the server, I get a "permissions" error. Watched a video on changing permissions, tried it and get this error message "Error: [EFAULT] [EPERM]Changing permissions on jail dataset path is not permitted: /mnt/Schiltz/iocage". I am completely lost and have no idea what any of this means. Any assistance would be greatly appriciated.

IOSonic

Explorer
Hi @jschiltz

Foremost, I am sorry for the loss of your son.

If there are valuable memories on your storage--and it sounds like there are---I strongly advise you to suspend further attempts to modify this device until you can get help from someone who has a baseline level of Linux and storage knowledge. Storage systems are complicated, and TrueNAS is not for beginners; I am worried you could unintentionally destroy your data without prior experience.

Do you have a backup of this data somewhere else?

If help is not an option and you want to continue despite this warning, please understand that operating this system will require you to read documentation, ask questions here and acquire baseline levels of knowledge along the way. And during this learning process, you will most likely make a mistake which may have negative implications for your data.