New to FreeNAS...

Status
Not open for further replies.

IDtheTarget

Dabbler
Howdy!

I'm new to FreeNAS, getting ready to buy the Mini XL. I've had a Synology in the past but wasn't excited about the lack of horsepower.

I'm hoping to put Plex on it (to which I'm also knew, I used to run XBMC/Kodi on a raspberry pi) to host my movies/TV/music in the house. My Internet connection is way too slow to stream outside of the house (I live in the boonies).

I'm an old-time Linux guy, since Red Hat 5.2. Since I'm going to be using FreeNAS and pfSense (on another, dedicated box), I imagine that I may have questions about FreeBSD as well.

Thanks!

gpsguy

Welcome to the forums!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

IDtheTarget

Dabbler
Are these the models that run the ASRock C2550D4I (or similar)?
Actually, I'm not sure. I *think* so, but I can't find on the ixsystems site what the current hardware is. I just figure that if I run into problems with FreeNAS, I won't get the dreaded "the hardware isn't good enough!" LOL.

Mirfster

Doesn't know what he's talking about

IDtheTarget

Dabbler
Wow...just...wow. The entire reason I'd intended to purchase from ixsystems was because I didn't want to have to worry about ensuring I got parts that work together well and have a good lifespan. If the systems that ixsystems is shipping have problems and they are dying soon after the warranty expires, I'm seriously concerned. Was *not* looking forward to having to build my own box again.

Mirfster

Doesn't know what he's talking about
Not trying to dissuade you, but I figured I should mention it. There were a lot of others who had issues and I noticed that a couple mentioned it actually being an IXSystem. Not saying it was all of them or wanting to spread any fear though.

This truly is an ASRock issue at the end of the day.

You can always look into the Dell T20 or Lenovo TS140 as alternatives.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Are these the models that run the ASRock C2550D4I (or similar)?