New to FreeNAS, my example build

Status
Not open for further replies.

sethg

Cadet
Hi, folks!

My name is Seth, and I'm an IT analyst for an R1 university in the US. At home, I have a 4yr. old Synology DS211j, so I'm looking to retire it in the near future. As I've grown in my knowledge of Linux/Mac, I've become particularly attached to open source software like FreeNAS.

I did my reading through the FreeNAS docs (yes, I RTFM...) and I built my first example system. I've got a limited budget at this time, so the system is designed with the ability to enhance bits of it over time. At my house, it's just two Mac laptops using the NAS for Time Machine backup store and for flat file storage. I also plan on installing the Plex and CrashPlan plugins, as well.

Based on the above use case, what do you all think of my example build?

--FULL BUILD: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/wYLG99
--OVERVIEW:
    • CPU: Intel Core i3-4170 3.7GHz
    • Motherboard: ASRock E3C222D4U µATX
    • RAM: 1x8GB Samsung ECC DDR3-1600
    • Storage: 3 x 3TB WD Red 3.5" HDDs
    • PSU: Cooler Master VSM 550W 80+ Gold Semi-Modular
--TOTAL COST: ~$809.00
Thanks a bunch for your input in advance, I look forward to learning more from you all!

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
At my house, it's just two Mac laptops using the NAS for Time Machine backup store and for flat file storage.
For these requirements, your proposed build looks adequate. Note that I'm not verifying your mobo/CPU combo. You can put your 3 drives in a RAIDZ1 configuration and sustain the failure of 1 drive without data loss. RAIDZ2 is preferred for large drives (i.e. > 1TB), so if your budget can stretch to a 4th drive, that would be better.
I also plan on installing the Plex and CrashPlan plugins, as well.
You might be short of RAM for this, especially Plex. 2x8GB would be a much better bet.

Agreed, 4 HDD's in a raidZ2.