New to freenas, fast write, broken read speed.

paradiss

Cadet
I built a new server this month to replace my ubuntu with a hardware server with this more friendly option.

AMD 3600
MSI X470
24 GB Ram
10x 6TB Toshiba MG06ACA600EY
LSI 9211-8i, IT flashed with current Firmware

Right now i have all 10 drives in a stripe to test performance. Raid Z2 is my end goal, which also suffer from the same read performance.

GSTAT while doing both a dd write of a 64 gig file, and read of the same 64 gig file. The performance is the same when reading and writing to the pool through a SMB share.

unknown.png

I am quite new to Freenas, and still reading some of the documentation and I have ran out of possible tests to conduct.

Are there any tests, or commands to pull up other info which may show the reason for the poor read performance?

MikeyG

Patron
Is that what it looks like for the entire read? What are the actual results from the dd read? I would assume that the above read screenshot would be valid for at least part of the test as it reads some of the data from ARC.

paradiss

Cadet
Is that what it looks like for the entire read? What are the actual results from the dd read? I would assume that the above read screenshot would be valid for at least part of the test as it reads some of the data from ARC.

dd test.jpg

I just ran another dd test to provide the best possible results to your question.

In addition, I wanted to provide what a SMB read looks like.
Ten disk stripe -> Windows 10 M.2 SSD
smb transfer.jpg

M.2 SSD on the freenas machine -> Windows 10 M.2 SSD
smb ssd transfer.jpg

MikeyG

Patron
That is weird. Have you tried bypassing the HBA and just using SATA connectors on the motherboard? Or the inverse, just the HBA? I assume your model has 6, so you may have to re-create the pool. Others may have more ideas.

paradiss

Cadet