New to freenas > any tips, suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

opaca91

Cadet
Hello everyone!

I'm new to freenas system and I have setup one at home for use on 2-3 computers.

I have used an old PC with this configuration (HP Compaq 6000 Pro):
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E7500 @ 2.93GHz
Intel Q43 Express chipset
320 W power supply
8 GB RAM DDR3 1066 MHz
2x 500 GB HDD in MIRROR (both are samsung HD502HJ but with different firmware versions)

FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201512121950 is installed on Kingstone DT Micro 8 GB (that really small one)

Network:
cable internet modem > Dlink wifi router > Dlink gigabit switch > NAS, PC1, PC2, printer

I have also a weekly backup, trough my windows PC (SyncBackFree in mirror setting) on a external 500 GB HDD.

I would like to hear from you some suggestions, advices what should I do for the system to be better.
Or what to do to prevent unwanted situations etc.

Any help is welcome!

For any additional info that might be helpful, I'm here! :)

Last edited:

gpsguy

Welcome to the forums!

As far as making the system better, look at a server platform with ECC RAM. Do a forum search for ECC RAM. See our hardware stickies for recommended hardware.

Since you're a graphic designer, perhaps you might want to enter the contest to create a new FreeNAS logo. More information can be found here - https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/freenas-logo-design-contest.39968/

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Welcome to the forums!

As far as making the system better, look at a server platform with ECC RAM. Do a forum search for ECC RAM. See our hardware stickies for recommended hardware.

Since you're a graphic designer, perhaps you might want to enter the contest to create a new FreeNAS logo. More information can be found here - https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/freenas-logo-design-contest.39968/