New to FreeNAS and have some questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

CrAsHnBuRnXp

Cadet
I am new to FreeNAS and I want to replace the current NAS that I have as I am just unhappy with its performance. Currently I have a WD MyCloud EX4 and it doesn't have a linux kernel to support an updated plex media server so I am stuck with using a old version and not to mention half my movies and TV shows don't want to play on my mobile device but play on my TV just fine.

Regardless, how important is it to use ECC RAM? I've watched a few videos of setups and configurations of FreeNAS and people are using basic computer setups with non ECC memory but another video I just watched involved a guy redoing his build because commenters in his video warned him that not using ECC memory may cost him dearly as ZFS can have a lot of memory errors resulting in data loss. Granted this particular video was posted in 2014. Is this still a common issue?

I was debating on doing a low end ryzen (8C/16T) build for my NAS and I am waiting for version 10 to be released.

So is ECC memory still the way to go? And also side question; how easy is it to setup plex on FreeNAS 10? Do I have to use a VM setup?

Thanks for the help guys.

Last edited by a moderator:

Jailer

Not strong, but bad

Huib

Explorer
ECC is highly reccommended.
It's not that FreeNAS is such a piece of crap that it has a lot of memory errors. That's just not the case.
It's that FreeNAS has data integrity and bitrot protection as their highest priority. If you use non ECC memory you basically lose the additional protection. In that case you could just as well use some linux (without zfs) or windows distro.

in simple terms (as in not extensive):