New Install Not booting after adding PCI with LSI

magifeda

Cadet
I am brand new to Proxmox and TrueNas Scale 22.12.3.1. Trying to get brand new install on a Dell Precision T3620. I have it on a proxmox setup. Created VM with simple settings as far as I know. 4 cores, 15gb, memory, SeaBios, Default Display, Machine: q35, VirtIO SCSI Single, hard disk 42GB and network device is net0. I am able to boot up to truenas without PCI added fine. But when I boot up with PCI added with LSI SAS2008 it doesn't come up. I have attached screenshots

Attachments

• IMG_6672.JPG
    IMG_6672.JPG
    275.8 KB · Views: 182
  • IMG_6674.JPG
    IMG_6674.JPG
    307.5 KB · Views: 169
  • IMG_6682.JPG
    IMG_6682.JPG
    298.7 KB · Views: 171
  • IMG_6707.JPG
    IMG_6707.JPG
    324.4 KB · Views: 193

jgreco

Resident Grinch
I am brand new to Proxmox and TrueNas Scale 22.12.3.1. Trying to get brand new install on a Dell Precision T3620. I have it on a proxmox setup. Created VM with simple settings as far as I know. 4 cores, 15gb, memory, SeaBios, Default Display, Machine: q35, VirtIO SCSI Single, hard disk 42GB and network device is net0. I am able to boot up to truenas without PCI added fine. But when I boot up with PCI added with LSI SAS2008 it doesn't come up. I have attached screenshots

Presumably you've seen the virtualization guide.

PCIe passthru on Proxmox is still listed as experimental, and it could be that the device isn't being set up appropriately in the BIOS. Your typical desktop PC or workstation is intended to run Windows or maybe Linux, and does not get the exhaustive testing of a server grade board.

You have three general options here.

1) Debug, starting by going through all the BIOS configuration pages and making sure virtualization is fully enabled and no weird PCIe options are configured. There's about a 50/50 chance it can be tracked back to some misconfigured option.