New build - controller card recomendations

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mugiwara

Dabbler
Hey everyone,

I've been running an ESXI virtualized FreeNas isntance for the past 3 years or so, and its worked great for me. However, I am starting to encroach on the high water mark, and my E3 v3's 32 GB of RAM limitation is not really allowing me to expand further, so decided to build a new box. My real question is about the different storage controllers. I am looking at going with 12 drives in a ZFS2 configuration, but most of the baords in my price range have an embedded LSI controller with 8 ports, and then the standard embedded motherboard option. Will I be able to simply plug in 8 drives to the LSI controller and 4 to the motherboard controller and call it a day? Or is there a better way to do this. Thanks!

Drives: 12 x 8 gb WD reds (purchased, $2300)
CPU: Intel Xeon Processor E3-1240 v6 (~$275)
Mobo: X11SSH-CTF (~$400)
Ram: Crucial CT16G4WFD824A 16GB x4 (~$150 * 4 = $600)
Chasis: ??? Some 3u or 4U quiet chassis? (~$250)
Boot drive: Samsung 960 EVO 128 GB ($90)
Power Supply: Seasonic Flagship PRIME TITANIUM 650 SSR-650TD ($130)
Total: ~$4,000. Hoping to make this last for at least 5-6 years,goal is to be at around $800/year

Thoughts? Recommendations on any parts? Im thinking I'll run this bare metal and create a couple jails for applications that require frequent NAS pool access. I will miss my virtual 10GBe esci switch, but I think I'll probably get a physical 10gb when I get the money.

This is a home build, so hoping to keep as quiet and cool as I can as well. Thanks, and please let me know your thoughts.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Will I be able to simply plug in 8 drives to the LSI controller and 4 to the motherboard controller and call it a day?
Yes, of course.
Chasis: ??? Some 3u or 4U quiet chassis? (~$250)
Bit of wishful thinking there. Your best bet is to get a used Supermicro chassis off ebay. Be prepared to swap out the PSUs for quieter ones.