Need help for hardware setup

Whitesnake

Cadet
Hello,

I'm quite new to the topic, at the moment I am trying to find an ideal setup for my purpose.

What do I need?
  • An ESXI Server with VMs for TrueNAS, Windows 10 Pro and 1-n Linux-systems (running Docker with Plex, Pihole, Unify Controller)
  • TrueNAS should be the software where I backup my photo projects (Capture One catalogs with lots of raw pictures) and my movies for plex. I am the only person who uses TrueNAS.
  • Windows 10 Pro is for software which requires Windows, because I am a Mac-guy and sometimes need Windows software.
Since I am new to the topic, I would like to have setup like this:
  • ESXI installed on a USB-drive or internal small SSD
  • A SSD for all VMs
  • 2 x 10 TB HDD (managed with TrueNAS, and reached through to ESXI for data and plex movies) as zraid1
I have some questions:
  • ESXI loads to the RAM, but where config-data written? Back to the USB-drive/SSD? Is it recommended to use an internal drive? Which one would you recommend? EVO 870 with 256 GB?
  • How should I backup the ESXI-drive, is there a best practice?
  • I am planing 3 VMs (TrueNAS, Win10, Linux): should I backup the VMs to a third (external?) HDD in case something happens to the VM-SSD of should I make a SSD-Raid1 for the VM? Is it correct, that in this case the managing of the VM-Raid must be done in ESXI, since it's the base for TrueNAS?
  • What happens if one of my zraid1 drives fails? Can I replace it with another?
  • Since my future hardware enclosure case has 8 drives: can I change the position of the zraid1 HDDs (when the system is switched off), or does TrueNAS require to have the HDDs exactly in the same position? My old Synology wasn't amused at all if I put the drives in the wrong order back to the system.
Thanks a lot for your help.

Pitfrr

Wizard
Hello,

I'll give you some feedback based on my experience.
I've set up FreeNAS (v9.10.x) in a VM on ESXi (v6.5).