Need help fixing my Array

n00by0815

Cadet
Hey everyone,

I am pretty new to TrueNAS and got to take over an existing system.

Today a drive was failing, at least according to my email notifications, but didn't show any signs of failure in the Web Interface.
So I ended up being stupid and just replacing the drive. Went there took out the drive, put in a new one, wanted to replace the failed drive and ended up in my current situation.

I had a spare drive in the system (sdc) and replaced drive sdn.

1708036336025.png

Now after resilvering, both drives show up in the corresponding Zpool under spare, but online.

How do I get sdc back to Spare and Available and sdn properly back into my Raid Z2 array? All array consist of 8 drives, this one now consists of 7 + 2 spare.

Thanks in advance!

Arwen

MVP
Welcome to the forums!

First off, this is a normal display of ZFS sparing out a drive. You do not have 2 spares. It is simply ZFS saying "sdc" is sparing out "sdn". In essence, a temporary 2 way mirror, (with 1 disk considered failing), to restore redundancy to the data.

The normal practice at this point, would be to replace "sdn", both physically and tell ZFS. After the new "sdn" is re-silvered, (aka re-synced to the data), the spare "sdc" would be changed from UNAVAIL to AVAIL.

The documentation, (see "Documentation" link at the top of any forum page), will have details on the proper method to replace a disk. If you find something in the docs that could be improved or is outright wrong today, (software does change...), their should be a "Feedback" button vertically on the right side.

Now it is not clear if "sdn" has been physically replaced. Or if you ran the software side of the process.
  • If you physically replaced "sdn" and NOT the software side, then just do the software side.