Need Feedback and Help on my intended Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

dropline

Dabbler
Hi Guys,

we need a NAS for our PhotoStudio. After some research I´m very sure that FreeNas is the best choice for us. I did never build one and that´s why I´m here to make sure that I buy the right components and set everything up the right way. To prepare I did already read quite a bit on the forum, and I think there shouldn´t be anything majorly wrong with my setup. There is still a lot that I have to learn, zfs is new to me as well. I work in IT since 11 years, so I think I should be fine if I carefully read about everything, double check and ask for help here before I screw up.

This NAS will be entirely used as storage for photos (mainly raw, jpg and a few psds)
I´ll describe a bit how we work in the studio:
After our Photographers are done with shooting, the raw files (20-40 mb per photo, 600-1200 files per shoot) will be transferred via Gigabit LAN from the SD our CF card to the NAS. After that, all the files get renamed via Adobe bridge (batch rename) and metadata gets saved to each file (also done in Adobe bridge).
(I´m going to change that process, so that the camera gives the files the right names straight away and also saves the metadata. This will take some load of the network)

After that´s all done, at some point, the photographers select and edit the photos and convert about ~100 to jpg. Done via gigbit LAN in Adobe Photoshop CS6.

We have up to 25 shoots a day, so this process can happen up to 25 times a day. This is absolute max, more common is probably 10 daily.

So I need a build that can handle these uploads and about 5-10 Photographers doing edits constantly.

I hope that's enough information and not too much to read :).

My Shopplinglist so far:

Supermicro X10SLM-F
Xeon e3-1231 v3
2x crucial 8GB 1600mhz ddr3 CT102472BD160B

4x WD Red 4TB
some small SSD for freenas
some Case and PSU