NAS System Almost Exclusively For Plex

LeDiable

Dabbler
Wow, this is a lot longer than I wanted it to be, but I want to be detailed with my usage, and current ideas. And I'm new to all this, so I'm out of my element.

I have a desire to replace an aging media "server" (built in January 2011) with something that mainly has more storage capacity, but more power is nice too. I am looking for something that won't be insanely loud, as it will have to be in my office next to my mini-tower PC, and I do work from home -- usually just once a week, but currently all the time (thanks coronavirus). With that in mind, I came across Mr. Slumber's $1000 build which was designed to be fairly quiet.

The box I want to replace is almost exclusively used as a Plex server, so there would be one jail for that. The media I currently have are just DVD rips, so nothing beyond 480p, and it is encoded with either h.264 or h.265. The good news is that internal playback is all been direct play/stream (no transcoding, even the h.265 stuff). Currently, I only have 1 internal stream, on rare occasions it is 2, but I may open up remote access to a friend or two, so I could be looking at 2 internal and 1-2 external streams. I also can't rule out 1080p or 4k content in the future. With the potential for external streams or higher quality content, I think I would rather have Plex create optimized versions of files instead of having to transcode on the fly, especially since storage capacity is going to be increased dramatically over my current capacity of just 2TB.

EDIT - I've decided to build a system similar to @Mr. Slumber, and I've purchased got the following components in mind. Does anyone have any thoughts, concerns, or other input?