NAS Consideration

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jason B

Dabbler
I've checked out NAS servers and I am considering buying QNAP TS-453A. The reviews are good and I wouldn't have to do much to set it up. On the other hand its not cheap ($700 for the box and another $200-$400 for disk drives). I have also checked out building my own and I like what I've read about FreeNAS. So I am also considering building my own. I see that the Lenovo Thinkserver TS140 has better processing power than the QNAP and quite a bit cheaper (less than $300 plus disks and another 12 GB RAM, maybe $500-$700 total). Of course the Lenovo would need FreeNAS. What are your recommendations on these two considerations?

Spearfoot

He of the long foot
I have no experience with them myself, but the Lenovo TS140 is recommended as a good entry-level system by many here on the forum. NewEgg has a Xeon E3-1226v3 model w/ 4GB of RAM on sale for $300 right now. Add a Crucial 16GB RAM kit for another $100 and you have a nice system for ~$400.

Assuming you're considering a 4-disk QNAP vs. a 4-disk FreeNAS system, disks are a wash when comparing the two, 'cause you have to buy 'em either way, right?

You could boot from a USB flash drive and have 4 HDDs in a RAIDZ2 array or a pair of mirrors.

Do some serious thinking about how much storage capacity you need. And think about how comfortable you are installing and configuring software vs. using something more 'Plug-n-Play' like the QNAP. This forum has a tremendous amount of information; spend some time digging here before you write FreeNAS off.

The decision is yours, of course. Good luck!

Jason B

Dabbler
I have no experience with them myself, but the Lenovo TS140 is recommended as a good entry-level system by many here on the forum. NewEgg has a Xeon E3-1226v3 model w/ 4GB of RAM on sale for $300 right now. Add a Crucial 16GB RAM kit for another $100 and you have a nice system for ~$400.