Multiple share with individual permission

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adnan

Dabbler
Hello,
I want to make a CIFS share where the dataset will be organized according to the given tree

Untitled.png

So, there are four users here; Jon, Tom, Erik, Elin. I want to make a system so that
  • Everyone can access the Common folder but only the person can delete/modify the item of Common folder who created the file/folder under "Common" folder.
  • Under the Sub Organization folder (SubOrg1 and SubOrg2), each user will have their own Public and Private folder.
  • The Public folder will have every one's access to read the data but the user only would have data read/write access. The private folder will be only available to the user. Other user would not have read/write access to that folder.
Please guide me thoroughly as I am very new to FreeNAS.

Mirfster

Doesn't know what he's talking about
Here are some threads to help you out:
https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/how-to-freenas-and-samba-cifs-permissions-video.41210/
Aside from that I would like to comment on a couple things:
  1. If you are wanting "User Home" Folders, consider a separate dataset specifically allocated for "Home Directories" (Can search the manual for this info)
  2. Maybe reconsider wanting a User's "Public" folder; since this seems like overkill
    • Things that you may want to be available to the entire company should be vetted and place in appropriate locations higher up
    • You really don't want User's just willy-nilly putting things out there for everyone to see
  3. Try not to go more then 3 levels deep with permissions, this leads to a lot of Administrative Overhead and confusion on where permissions are actually set
  4. Consider a "Transfer" folder, that User's can Read/Write to but on a temporary basis. Usually the contents of this folder is deleted at standard intervals (like every week)