Move System Dataset SCALE

MikeLowry

Dabbler
Joined
Nov 20, 2021
Messages
27
Hi All,


Need to move the system dataset to the boot pool due to noisy reads every few seconds. I don't see that menu option on SCALE RC2.

1640672150414.png


The NAS is not in production yet so I also need to resize the pool (and create 2 pools on 3TB each - any recommendations appreciated.
Cheers
M
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2019
Messages
3,641
It's not done through the Storage menu, but through the System menu.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2019
Messages
3,641
I wonder if you need to reboot for it to fully take effect in SCALE?

Try rebooting and double-check that the syslog and .system dataset resides on the boot pool.

Code:
zfs list -t filesystem | grep -F ".system"
 
Last edited:

HarryMuscle

Contributor
Joined
Nov 15, 2021
Messages
161
Not runnings any apps yet - still a fresh install. It's on a QNAP TS-470 Pro with a 1TB Samsung SSD as boot drive.
In your screenshot I see the ix-applications dataset already exists so I wonder if Kubernetes writes to it even without any apps being installed. Not sure if it's possible to move that dataset to an SSD for you but I would try that and see if the hard drives stop being accessed.

Thanks,
Harry
 

MikeLowry

Dabbler
Joined
Nov 20, 2021
Messages
27
I wonder if you need to reboot for it to fully take effect in SCALE?

Try rebooting and double-check that the syslog and .system dataset resides on the boot pool.

Code:
zfs list -t filesystem | grep -F ".system"
Hi @winnielinnie ,

Rebooted and confirmed that the system is now on the boot pool.

1640830635086.png


The drives are still accessed every 5 seconds:

1640830811439.png


@HarryMuscle - I don't see an option to move IX-Apps to another pool

Cheers
M
 

MikeLowry

Dabbler
Joined
Nov 20, 2021
Messages
27
Hi @winnielinnie ,

Rebooted and confirmed that the system is now on the boot pool.

View attachment 51882

The drives are still accessed every 5 seconds:

View attachment 51883

@HarryMuscle - I don't see an option to move IX-Apps to another pool

Cheers
M
Hi All,

The drive access is related to ZFS.
To resolve the 5 seconds drive access, I followed this blog article:

NewsPaint Blog

Want to Slow Linux ZFS Flushing/Syncing to Disk Every 5 Seconds?​



Leave a comment Posted by newspaint on 2016-08-07



So you’ve got ZFS on Linux and you notice your hard drive LED light up every 5 seconds. How can you slow that down?
The zfs_txg_timeout parameter is described as:

~# modinfo zfs |grep zfs_txg_timeout
parm: zfs_txg_timeout:Max seconds worth of delta per txg (int)

You can check the current value of this parameter:
~# cat /sys/module/zfs/parameters/zfs_txg_timeout
5

To verify this is the parameter you want to change, set this to 10 and count the number of seconds between the hard drive light coming on:
~# echo 10 >/sys/module/zfs/parameters/zfs_txg_timeout

Once you know this is the parameter causing the hard drive activity you can tell the ZFS module the default you want it to start with on next boot by editing /etc/modprobe.d/zfs.conf and adding a line similar to the following:
options zfs zfs_txg_timeout=30

Take care when changing this number as it may result in a higher probability of lost data in the event of a power outage.

Tested the options via SSH but I did not edit the /etc/modprobe.d/zfs.conf as this won't form part of the TRUENAS backup. I created a POST INIT command to set this option.

1640832008180.png
 
Top