Mount NTFS Drive to Win10 VM or share over SMB

layerblend

Cadet
So I have a couple HDD(non RAID) that I used in my old workstation just to hold project files not the OS. I believe they are formatted as NTFS. My question is can I plug them into my Freeenas box, import them maintaing the data intact and share them over SMB to my new WIn10 workstation or maybe mount it on a Win10 VM? Maybe I'm wrong but I'm under the impression and disk I bring into freenas I must clean/wipe and reformat in order to use it. Please help!

I'm no expert but I dont believe you can. From what I've read and experienced, it will always delete everything thats on the drive. I had a similar situation and the way I solved it was by having all my data on an external hard drive, setup your pool, set up SMB and then transfer all the files onto the SMB share.

In windows 10, you can also share your files with another windows 10 machine if you didnt want to go the freenas route.

On another note, if you're using freenas I strongly recommend some sort of raid configuration with your hard drives. A couple years back a hard drive I had with many pictures failed and I was unable to recover them.

layerblend

Cadet
I'm no expert but I don't believe you can. From what I've read and experienced, it will always delete everything thats on the drive. I had a similar situation and the way I solved it was by having all my data on an external hard drive, setup your pool, set up SMB and then transfer all the files onto the SMB share.

In windows 10, you can also share your files with another windows 10 machine if you didnt want to go the freenas route.

On another note, if you're using freenas I strongly recommend some sort of raid configuration with your hard drives. A couple years back a hard drive I had with many pictures failed and I was unable to recover them.