Motherboard and CPU recommendation

Status
Not open for further replies.

AVSION

Contributor
Hi, i'm new to this forum and freenas, this is my first build and i would like some recommendation on hardware.
I would like to build multi purpose freenas home server, which will support the requirements below, starting with the best system i can afford
with minimum storage and later on add more storage.

Server requirements are:
1. Media
- Rip all bluray using makeMKV & handbrake (move this task from my main computer)
- Use PLEX and Kodi multiple clients streaming at the same time
2. Backup
- HD/UHD Quality digital blurays copies
- HD Music
- Pictures, documents, videos
- All MAC computers and mobile devices
3. VMs for networking, media (not sure ATM but i like to have the option to support)
4. reliable system to last at least 5 years
5. able to multitask all the above
6. At least of 40TB (upgrade later on)

i have done some research in the last few days on this forum and other places and checked what hardware other used, similar to my requirements,
but find it hard to decide on the hardware especially the motherboard, i know i want to go with supermicro, was thinking about X10SRi-F (with the intel Xeon E5 1650 V4) but not sure if this is the best one for me or if there are other features this MB missing that i need.
here is the list i put together to start with.

- Chassis: Fractal Design Define R5 Black Case FD-CA-DEF-R5-BK
- Motherboard: Supermicro X10SRi-F (UP, IPMI, 10 SATA3, 6 PCIe3, 1TB RAM limit)
- CPU: Intel Xeon E5-1650v4 (Broadwell-EP 6/12 @ 3.6 - 4.0ghz)
- Cooler: Noctua NH-U9DX i4 (2 x Noctua 90mm NF-B9 PWM fans)

- RAM: 2 x 16GB Crucial EEC RDIMM DDR4-2400
- Boot: 2 x 32GB Sandisk Cruiser Fit 3.0
- PSU: Corsair RMx 1000
- Blu Ray: LG BH16NS55
- Storage:
4 x HGST Deskstar NAS 4TB, 0S03666 (5 year warranty)

base on my system needs can you please check the list above and let me know what you think,
1. Motherboard