Manage plex plugin "not authorized, you do not have access to this server"

scooby622

Cadet
Hello, I am brand new to truenas core or any kind of server/Linux/NAS software so this is a very steep learning curve for me and I ask for patience. Currently, my goal is to get plex running from this hardware so that I can have a local movie library. I was able to do all the basic setup ie creating a pool, creating a user, creating a windows share. I know this topic has been written on but from my understanding, those people were manually installing plex in a way that I am not familiar with. I am simply installing the plex plugin.

I initially had an issue installing plex using default settings so I did a little digging and found a solution that worked. I don't exactly understand what each setting I changed actually does but I can explain the steps I followed. I unchecked DHCP and checked NAT in the basic properties. allowed me to install plex but then I had an issue where the manage tab would not load a webpage and would refuse to connect. this was solved by going to the plex plugin network settings and enabling nat port forwarding. once that was enabled I set the jail port number and host port number on both the udp and TCP to 32400 (I followed a guide for this, have zero clue what any of that means) This finally allowed the manage tab to open into plex where I was able to login but once I tried to go any further I got the message "Not authorized You do not have access to this server". This pops up every time I hit the manage tab now.

From what I read, I have to insert a plex claim code somewhere but I do not know where this would be entered. I do not see anything specifically in the plex jail properties, and everyone else seemed to be installing plex manually. does anyone know where I can plug in this code or if there is another solution?

Is the only goal of this machine to be a plex server?