LSI 9200-8e, DS4246, SSD Speeds and ses: transfer speeds

xnaron

Explorer
I'm running some tests on different configurations and am puzzled by some of the results I am getting.

My setup:
IBM x3650 m3 , 2 x5650 cpu, 128GB ram
LSI 9200-8e
2 x Netapp DS4246 with IOM6 (6 gbps)
8 x 4TB Seagate iron wolf in raidz2 sata
1 x samsung evo 850 120GB in stripe sata
Freenas 11.1-U6

test6.out = 42GB file generated with dd if=/dev/random, file is on th 8x4TB raidz2

/mnt/ssd=ssd stripe of samsung 850 evo 120GB

dd if=./test6.out of=/mnt/ssd/test1.dd bs=1024K

If I monitor the above command with zpool iostat 1 I see that the SSD pool tops out around 152MB/s for the transfer. The specs for the SSD show sustained write at ~500MB/s. I have tried this test in 2 different freenas servers with the same results.

This is my first time working with sas enclosures, specifically the DS4246. They have iom6 (6Gbps) in them and the 9200-8e is 6Gbps.
Looking at the below the disks are showing up as 600MB/s transfers but the enclosures are showing up as 300MB/s transfers. I'm unclear why there is a discrepancy.

I ran a test doing a dd directly to the raw SSD and got 381MB/s which is greater than 300MB/s so I must be at 6Gbps per channel on the sas.

root@hood:/mnt/vol1test/share # dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/da11 bs=1024K count=820
820+0 records in
820+0 records out
859832320 bytes transferred in 2.255991 secs (381132791 bytes/sec)

Code:
da4: <ATA ST4000VN008-2DR1 SC60> Fixed Direct Access SPC-4 SCSI device
da4: Serial Number ZXXXXXX
da4: 600.000MB/s transfers
da4: Command Queueing enabled
da4: 3815447MB (7814037168 512 byte sectors)
da7: <ATA ST4000VN008-2DR1 SC60> Fixed Direct Access SPC-4 SCSI device
da7: Serial Number ZXXXXXX
da7: 600.000MB/s transfers
da7: Command Queueing enabled
da7: 3815447MB (7814037168 512 byte sectors)
ses0 at mps0 bus 0 scbus2 target 12 lun 0
ses0: <NETAPP DS424IOM6 0162> Fixed Enclosure Services SPC-3 SCSI device
ses0: Serial Number SHJ
ses0: 300.000MB/s transfers