Low read write performace

Status
Not open for further replies.

tbrezniak

Dabbler
So I just finished creating my first freenas machine. I am running a Pentium G3258 with 16 GB DDR3-1600 Memory and two arrays. The first is a mirror of 2 WD Red 2tb drives and the second is a raidZ of four WD Green 2tb drives. I am getting 10mb/s read and write on both arrays. Any help on improving performance would be greatly appreciated.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Start by making sure there's no 100Mb/s link between the server and the client.

gpsguy

As @Ericloewe surmised, the 10/100 ports on your router is the issue. Assuming you have gigabit ethernet NIC's in your FreeNAS server and client workstation, get a gigabit ethernet switch. Inexpensive 4-8 port models can be found for under $50 USD. Plug your devices into the switch and then connect the switch to your router.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
What is meant by 100mb/s link. Sorry Im a super noob to freenas so I'm really learning as I go. MY router has a 10/100 ports
Well, there's your problem.

As gpsguy suggested, get a gigabit switch.

tbrezniak

Dabbler
Thanks for all the help, the community here is really great. Especially for us new guys. I will pick up a switch this week.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Not to be super nitpicky, but "10mb/s" means jack shite. Does it mean you're transferring 10 megabytes/second? 10 megabits/second? As a new guy, help yourself get better help by communicating clearly what you mean - capitalization is significant, as is the choice of abbreviation! "10mb/s" could be megabastards/second. "10Mbps" is clearly understood as a standard abbreviation for megabits per second. "10MB/s" is okay for 10 megabytes per second, but "10Mbyte/sec" removes some ambiguity and makes it clear.

tbrezniak

Dabbler