Looking for some advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Juvx

Explorer
Hi Gents, Sorry for the questions but i'm total Newbie.
Just finished up building my freeNAS system running 9.3.
Intel Xeon e3-1246 v3
Asrock c226 WS
Crucial 32GB ECC mem
1 x WD Green 2 TB
6x WD RED 4TB will run Z2 total of 16TB
Single 1GbE
Linksys EA8500 mu-mimo wireless router

Unfortunately it would be almost impossible to run ethernet in my house without a total demolish of all the walls. So right now i have a powerline adaptor from my wireless router to my desktop and the rest is on AC wireless. NAS connected to the router of course.

This NAS will be used as a PLEX server, Photo storage (lightroom index), Mac time machine, Some video editing storage.
I have 3 Mac laptops in the house and 2 Windows 10 PCs. What would be the best configuration for shares for everything to be able to access the file server. Mac AND windows. Preferably with the ability to delete files from either. I've been having a hard time finding the best solution right now the 2tb green is running CIFS only but I'm having trouble with permissions and deleting files from both windows and mac.

Is there anything I can do to improve transfer speeds. I know i'm limited by the wireless connection and by the 1GbE BUT even transfering photos from my old WD NAS (mycloud mirror) to the 2TB Green drive is really really slow like 4-5 MB/s.... It's painfully slow. Both NASes are hooked up directly to the same router.. it shouldn't be this slow should it?

Is there anything else I can do to optimize the system? Thank you so much for your time and sorry for the newbie questions.

CIFS is probably going to be your best bet with the mix of systems you have. You just might have to put a little time in learning how permissions work and how to implement them.