looking for advice and solution for my home FreeNAS and backup system

Status
Not open for further replies.

WalterWampe

Dabbler
Hello pros out there,

as a beginner I come to you with a question about usability, security and because I am looking to the best solution.
I spend the last weeks gathering information and reading manuals and threads and now I am stuck with my initial concept and am not sure whether I should just let go and go for a better solution.

I had the idea of getting my own NAS after having bought my 10th or so external HDD to save my photos and gopro videos on.
I then came to the idea of also using it also as a timemachine backup drive and for my iphone/ipad backups.
Finally if its already there, I thought I could use it to store more random stuff which accumulates slowly on my laptop on there.
So most of the data is not everyday use.

My plan is to use FreeNAS (not sure if Corral or 9.10 yet after testing Corral today) as my mainNAS/backupNAS system.

For my MainNas backup, but only as a temporary solution (until a friend of mine gets his FreeNAS too and we start to replicate each others snapshots as long term plan, maybe in 6 months or so) I wanted to use a second FreeNAS system (backupNas) just for replication of my snapshots, both running as VMs on my hardware.

To do so I run an esxi host on my hardware:

1. supermicro X11SSM-F board with VT-d

2. one m1018 controller HBA LSI Megaraid 9212-4i 6G in IT Mode with passthrough

3. 16GB ECC RAM Samsung M391A2K43BB1 DDR4-2133 DIMM

4. SSD containing my VMs

5. USB stick 16 GB Mach Xtreme Technology MX-ES to boot esxi

6. 2x2TB HDD WD Red WD20EFRX Intellipower

7. 2x4TB HDD Seagate IronWolf NAS (1x2TB and 1x4TB for mainNas, 1x2TB and 1x4TB as backupNas)

8. Intel Core i3 6100 2x 3.70GHz

In the future I want to add more VMs, like for home automation and dedicated servers. Until now I have a factorio headless server running via ubuntu on another VM. Therefore actual VMs:

1. mainNAS

2. backupNAS