Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

Just before I hit the NewEgg [buy] button

Status
Not open for further replies.

mark tognella

Neophyte
Joined
Feb 8, 2017
Messages
11
Just a very quick review of the hardware.

I have read the ‘FreeNAS Community Hardware Guide,’ and – pretty much just stuck with the recommended hardware as follows:

Intel Xeon E3-1241 v3 Haswell 3.5 GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W Server Processor BX80646E31241V3

SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SL7-F-O Micro ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 Intel C222 DDR3 1600

Crucial 8GB Single DDR3L 1600MT/s (PC3-12800) DR x8 ECC UDIMM 240-Pin Memory - CT102472BD160B

I am going to want to put the SAS ports into IT-mode

I was just about to hit the [buy] button on Newegg when I thought, “maybe I’ll just post on this forum and see if anybody has any opinions. It would be nice to use this as a plex server or run a virtual machine on it.
 

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Joined
Nov 6, 2013
Messages
6,395
Your going to want 16gb memory if you want to use Plex. What power supply?
Why didn't you go with a skylake/x11 system?

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
 

mark tognella

Neophyte
Joined
Feb 8, 2017
Messages
11
Your going to want 16gb memory if you want to use Plex. What power supply?
Why didn't you go with a skylake/x11 system?

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
Oh, that was actually a typo. I was going to order 4 UDIMMS. As for the skylake, I was just picking a processor to match the board. The guide seems to say that the Xeon E3-1241 v3 Haswell 3.5 GHz is the one for that?
 

Stux

Wizened Sage
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
4,222
If you want to not limit your growth Go skylake and go E3-1230v5

Skylake supports upto 64GB of RAM. So you might want to consider a single 16GB
 

mark tognella

Neophyte
Joined
Feb 8, 2017
Messages
11
Oh, that was actually a typo. I was going to order 4 UDIMMS. As for the skylake, I was just picking a processor to match the board. The guide seems to say that the Xeon E3-1241 v3 Haswell 3.5 GHz is the one for that?
Your going to want 16gb memory if you want to use Plex. What power supply?
Why didn't you go with a skylake/x11 system?

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
I guess that is what I am - kind-of - asking. Should I put a better processor in that board, or better processor AND board?
 

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Joined
Nov 6, 2013
Messages
6,395
You will need a x11 board instead of a x10 board. How many disks do you need the built in SAS controller.

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
 

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Joined
Nov 6, 2013
Messages
6,395

mark tognella

Neophyte
Joined
Feb 8, 2017
Messages
11
Things I care about are IPM, ECC (motherboard and CPU) VT-d, and PCI express slot for a capture card. Thanks for the link. Looks like I have to go back to the drawing board. I have not been in hardware for years, so I have to work the compatibility stuff out slowly. Also, some sort of 'barebones onboard graphics card.'
 

Stux

Wizened Sage
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
4,222
IPMI includes barebones graphics card. Depends on your definition of barebones.

8 would be nice. But six would be fine.

The x10sl7 (iirc) supports 14 (8 SAS + 6 Sata), which sounds like overkill :)

Your mention of capture card sends up some red flags.

What are you planning to do?
 

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
Joined
Nov 6, 2013
Messages
6,395
What is this capture card you are talking about? I suspect it's not going to work with freenas.
 

CraigD

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2016
Messages
343
I guess that is what I am - kind-of - asking. Should I put a better processor in that board, or better processor AND board?

The X10SL7-F is a great board, and is the board I use. However it is limited to 32GB RAM.

The newer version of this is the X11SSL-CF board, it supports 64GB RAM, you will need 2 SAS to SATA cables

If I was building a server today, it would be on the X11SSL-CF board with the E3-1230v5 chip

As for your capture card, I assume you are thinking of virtualizing freeNAS on your capture or media center? This greatly increases the chance of data loss

Have Fun
 

mark tognella

Neophyte
Joined
Feb 8, 2017
Messages
11
The X10SL7-F is a great board, and is the board I use. However it is limited to 32GB RAM.

The newer version of this is the X11SSL-CF board, it supports 64GB RAM, you will need 2 SAS to SATA cables

If I was building a server today, it would be on the X11SSL-CF board with the E3-1230v5 chip

As for your capture card, I assume you are thinking of virtualizing freeNAS on your capture or media center? This greatly increases the chance of data loss

Have Fun
Thanks for that suggestions. I am going to go over and have a look at that.
 

CraigD

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2016
Messages
343
X11SSL-CF-O and X11SSL-CF are the same board, one of them is in the retail packaging the other is not

If you don't need more than 6 SATA drives buy a cheaper board like the X11SSL-F, if you need to expand later you will need to get an HBA

If you need 9-14 SATA ports without using an HBA, the X11SSL-CF is the board for you

Have Fun
EDITED to add the -F (IPMI)
 
Last edited:

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
17,433
X11SSL-CF-O and X11SSL-CF are the same board, one of them is in the retail packaging the other is not
PEDANTRY ALERT!

Ahem.
The board model is X11SSL-CF. X11SSL-CF-O is the retail-packaged SKU, X11SSL-CF-B is the bulk SKU.
If you don't need more than 6 SATA drives buy a cheaper board like the X11SSL-F, if you need to expand later you will need to get an HBA
These days, I find it hard to recommend the X11SSL-F. The X11SSM-F's extra two SATA ports are very useful, making it the vastly better choice in all but the most cash-constrained scenario.
 

Cicatrize

Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Messages
56
These days, I find it hard to recommend the X11SSL-F. The X11SSM-F's extra two SATA ports are very useful, making it the vastly better choice in all but the most cash-constrained scenario.
Seconded. I only use 2 of the 8 ports on my X11SSM-F, but the chipset upgrade alone is worth the extra $20. Also $20 more is the E3-1240v5 (than the 1230, usually). IMO, the 1240 is the best "bang for the buck" Skylake E3.
 

Stux

Wizened Sage
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
4,222
Seconded. I only use 2 of the 8 ports on my X11SSM-F, but the chipset upgrade alone is worth the extra $20. Also $20 more is the E3-1240v5 (than the 1230, usually). IMO, the 1240 is the best "bang for the buck" Skylake E3.

Depends if a 4% speed bump is worth $20. Whereas the 1230 is circa 50% faster than the 1220, making it easy to justify.
 

Cicatrize

Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2015
Messages
56
Depends if a 4% speed bump is worth $20. Whereas the 1230 is circa 50% faster than the 1220, making it easy to justify.
I see what you're saying, but at this level, getting an extra 100MHz for $20 isn't the norm. Look at the 1270. That's like $75 more than the 1240 for an extra 100MHz.

However, you're right. The 1230 is PLENTY powerful, especially over the 1220. I guess what matters is how much $20 means to you. :)
 

mark tognella

Neophyte
Joined
Feb 8, 2017
Messages
11
PEDANTRY ALERT!

Ahem.
The board model is X11SSL-CF. X11SSL-CF-O is the retail-packaged SKU, X11SSL-CF-B is the bulk SKU.

These days, I find it hard to recommend the X11SSL-F. The X11SSM-F's extra two SATA ports are very useful, making it the vastly better choice in all but the most cash-constrained scenario.
Yes, I noticed that when I went looking. The X11SSM-F seems the way to go for me. Luckily I checked with this forum before buying the first board - as this is MUCH better value for money. Is it definitely the case that if I set the BIOS for AHCI (rather than RAID) on this board, I will get a standard JBOD? That is, not really a JOBD RAID0 in disguise, specific to the chip? Haven't worked in infrastructure for many years, but I don't want anything tied to the controller chip. So I would be putting an Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 SkyLake 3.4 GHz LGA 1151 into this board. Any recommendations on RAM? The guide seems to suggest to stay away from Kingston. I will be putting 32gig in it.
 

Ericloewe

Not-very-passive-but-aggressive
Moderator
Joined
Feb 15, 2014
Messages
17,433
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top