Jail with FreeBSD 11.1-RELEASE

Status
Not open for further replies.

dub_c

Cadet
I used the FreeNAS GUI to create a jail. It seems that the jail is FreeBSD 11.0-RELEASE

Code:
# freebsd-version												 
11.0-RELEASE-p1
/

I would like to upgrade to 11.1-RELEASE, but I am getting this error:

Code:
# freebsd-update -r 11.1-RELEASE upgrade						   
Looking up update.FreeBSD.org mirrors... 3 mirrors found.					   
Fetching public key from update5.freebsd.org... failed.						 
Fetching public key from update6.freebsd.org... failed.						 
Fetching public key from update4.freebsd.org... failed.						 
No mirrors remaining, giving up.

I get the same type of error when I try to run
Code:
freebsd-update fetch

I'm not sure what this means or if it is possible for me to upgrade. I'm very new to FreeNAS and FreeBSD, so I'm assuming I'm missing something fundamental.

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
FreeNAS 11.1 hasn't been released yet. The current version of FreeNAS is 11.0 which is based on FreeBSD 11.0. You can't upgrade a jail to a newer version than the base OS.

AngeleToR

Dabbler
I think you're wrong, Jailer, as FreeNAS is now 11.1 based but the jail template that gets downloaded is 11.0 still, that makes mySQL crash on startup and LOTS of stuff depending on it to crash too (it happened to me trying to update my Calibre jail).

Soooooo... it seems like waiting for 11.1 jails is our only option right now...

Mmmmm.... checking the upgrade I did a couple hours ago.... I'm on the FreeNAS 11-STABLE train, but freebsd-version shows FreeNAS as 11.1-STABLE, so yep, jails are one version behind right now...

dub_c

Cadet
Any idea when we will be able to create 11.1 jails? Or is there a workaround to do it now using the current version?

Jailer

Not strong, but bad
Any idea when we will be able to create 11.1 jails? Or is there a workaround to do it now using the current version?