iSCSI "Device is Not Ready"

Hello all,

So I have dived head first into setting up a FreeNAS server to host all of my media for a Plex server. I have never done this before and a lot of the stuff I am learning on the fly.

I use a cloud backup service that gives me unlimited cloud backup storage. The catch is that it will only back up on non-server operating systems (Windows 10 for example) and will only backup Logical drives. So it will not back up my FreeNAS server (it will but this would be commercial pricing which is per TB). Because of this I have been setting up the shares as an iSCSI so windows will see it as a logical driver, and the backup service will back it up. This has been tested, and it works. I have been able to create 2 iSCSI Shares, and connect them to Windows, no issues.

My issue is when I attempt to set up a 3rd and 4th iSCSI, windows will see the drives, but when I attempt to initialize the driver I get the error "Device is not ready".

One of the working iSCSI is using a zvol as the device. The other working iSCSI is using a disk as a device. I have tried both configurations on these other 2 and I get the same errors.

FreeNAS Version 11.2
Windows 10 Pro 1809
FMB-1101 Motherboard - https://www.also.com/pub/pdf/Z420.pdf
Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-1620 0 @ 3.60GHz (8 cores)
16 GB RAM
4 Hard disks All WD Enterprise 2 TB
On Board NIC

Please let me know if there is any other information you will need.

Last edited:

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Welcome to the forums.

In order to help identify any issues that arise out of choice of hardware or configuration, the Forum Rules, conveniently linked in red at the top of each page, requests that you post a full hardware manifest and description of your configuration, which is often very helpful in identifying where things are going astray.