BUILD Is my old PC a good choice for a FreeNAS server?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chronist

Cadet
Hello there Everyone,

I'm new to the game and came to this beautiful place by the recommendation of Wendell. After seeing his videos about free nas I thought to build one myself.

The Build aka my old PC:
Sabertooth z77
16gb Ram
2500k CPU
120GB Evo 840
3x 4TB WD Red
bequiet 850W P9 Pro

I know the PSU is overkill but it's what I've got here.

I'm thinking about adding a dual gig nic and would choose the intel pro 1000.

First of all I'd love to hear your thought on my setup, second are a few questions I've got.
Can I use the SSD I put free nas on as a cache for my raid or should I buy an other one for the operating system?
I believe free nas only needs about 8GB for the operating system. should I buy a small SSD to put it on?

Have a tek day! Greetings, Chronist

Dice

Wizard

Chronist

Cadet
My main take away from this: Buy a Supermicro Board, ecc Ram and a new low wattage PSU. And a Sata Dom for OS.
Perfect that's a great help, I'll sell the other things then ;)

Mirfster

Doesn't know what he's talking about
Can I use the SSD I put free nas on as a cache for my raid or should I buy an other one for the operating system?
Better to keep them separated IMHO
I believe free nas only needs about 8GB for the operating system. should I buy a small SSD to put it on?
I would, while others are fine with putting FreeNAS on USB Sticks I prefer a SSD. You can get two 32 GB ones pretty cheaply on eBay and mirror it if so inclined.

Dice

Wizard
Furthermore, I'd disregard the X10 recomendations and look for Skylake X11. That part of the hardware recomendation was outdated last time I checked.

Mirfster

Doesn't know what he's talking about
My main take away from this: Buy a Supermicro Board, ecc Ram and a new low wattage PSU. And a Sata Dom for OS.
Perfect that's a great help, I'll sell the other things then ;)