CHECK MY BUILD / SUGGEST ONE

Status
Not open for further replies.

Asimov1973

Dabbler
Hello guys,

I would like to build my first nas (I have 20 years of experience in assembling PC's)

i will use FREENAS 9.1.1 X64 (or superior) and I was thinking to buy the following hardware:

(prices in euros)

INTER-TECH IPC 4U-4310L.............................................................................................219.33​
Asus Z87 PRO Motherboard Socket LGA 1150.................................................................. 167.98​
Seasonic SS-360GP 360W 80 Plus Gold PC-Netzteil (360 Watt, ATX 12V) ......................58,34​
Intel Celeron G3420 Processor Box (3200 MHz, L3-Cache, Sockel 1150) ........................59,95​
Twin Dual Gigabyte Gigabit PCI-Express LAN (PCI-E) Netzwerkkarte 10/100/1000... 29,95​
Samsung 840 Series Basic interne SSD-Festplatte 120GB.................................................. 85,89​
APC Back UPS ES 700VA 230V........................................................................................... 77,60​
TOTALDISKLESS NAS....................................................................................................... 699.04​
DISKS : Western Digital WD30EFRX Red 3TB 121.79 x 6 = ...........................................730.74​
TOTAL with DISKS ...........................................................................................................1429.78​
I will use the SSD for cache, The 6 disks they will be configured for RAIDZ2 and I want to use freenas as a NAS (duh :) ), video streamer (look my movies with xbmc installed on a pc) and I want to install OWNCLOUD​
1) I don't think to buy an IBM M1015 because I'm poor and I don't see the point​
2) I will never ever be in the condition to buy more than 6 discs because I'm poor :) so I don't need controllers and/or cases with more than 8 ports (6disk + ssd + maybe cd-rom)​
3) does FREENAS recognize the ASUS Z87 or is too much new?​