Is it true that each line of post_install.sh is executed in parallel?

fuji44

Cadet
Hello everyone.

This is my first time posting. I've read the rules, but if there's anything I've done that violates the rules, please point it out.

I've recently been learning how to create a plugin for iocage. I was able to create a plugin by looking at some documents, but I found a description in the official documentation that caught my attention.

Note that iocage executes the file contents simultaneously, not line by line.

Is this true?
> Note that iocage executes the file contents simultaneously, not line by line. If this is true, is it better to use `&&` for commands where the order of execution is important?
If so, it makes the script quite difficult to read.

To give you some background, I'm trying to install some additional software in this script, and I want to remove some concerns because I need to run some commands like git and pip sequentially.

If you have any good documentation on creating plugins, I would appreciate it.

By the way, I am testing with TrueNAS core 12.-U3.1.

tprelog

Patron
I've been maintaining some iocage plugins (using CLI) since FreeNAS 11.2 and I've never seen that before -- I could still be wrong, but from my own experience it appears post_install.sh (and pre_update.sh / post_update.sh) runs line by line.

fuji44

Cadet
I've been maintaining some iocage plugins (using CLI) since FreeNAS 11.2 and I've never seen that before -- I could still be wrong, but from my own experience it appears post_install.sh (and pre_update.sh / post_update.sh) runs line by line.

Thank you for your answer. I hope the execution order can be guaranteed.

This may not be relevant, but it seems that the same message may be output multiple times during installation. This and the documentation made me nervous.