Is it a bad idea to run unbound on TrueNAS

glen4cindy

Cadet
I've just spun up TrueNAS for the first time so I'm completely new to it. I've never used a NAS device before in a home setting.

I've got my system running on a 6 Core Ryzen 5 with 16 GB of RAM and currently 3 500 GB hard drives.

I'm running TrueNAS-SCALE-22.02.4 and just deployed Truecharts PiHole.

Several older threads mentioned not running unbound on FreeNAS and suggested the reason that it wasn't meant for anything other than storage and that things like unbound should be run in a jail.

TrueNAS seems to be a bit different and those threads were pretty old.

Is it acceptable practice to install unbound using the guide on the Pi-Hole website?

Thanks in advance.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
I've just spun up TrueNAS for the first time so I'm completely new to it. I've never used a NAS device before in a home setting.

I've got my system running on a 6 Core Ryzen 5 with 16 GB of RAM and currently 3 500 GB hard drives.

I'm running TrueNAS-SCALE-22.02.4 and just deployed Truecharts PiHole.

Several older threads mentioned not running unbound on FreeNAS and suggested the reason that it wasn't meant for anything other than storage and that things like unbound should be run in a jail.

TrueNAS seems to be a bit different and those threads were pretty old.

Is it acceptable practice to install unbound using the guide on the Pi-Hole website?

Thanks in advance.

No, it's not. TrueNAS is an appliance and is not intended to be a general purpose Linux host for your hacking pleasure. You are expected to use either a virtual machine or a container (the Linux re-imagining of FreeBSD jails) to run these workloads, if you must. If you make changes to TrueNAS itself, expect that things might not work correctly, either immediately or down the road when you update or have to reinstall for some reason. Additionally, TrueNAS will have no way to be able to manage Unbound.