Is a RAID set up the only option?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RayWC

Cadet
I am new to FreeNAS, again. I used FreeNAS many years ago but stopped using it in favor of a more energy efficient Buffalo Link Station. My network storage needs were and still are simple. The Link Station is full, 500 gigs, along with the add on USB drives, another 500 gigs. The Link Station is showing signs it is about to quit. I have set up my old PC that has a quad core 2.8 gig processor, 8 gigs of RAM for FreeNAS. I have done everything except install my storage drives. I bought 2 1 terabyte drives with the intent of installing them as separate drives. Now looking at the directions for the set up of storage it would seem I can only have a raid configuration. I don't want a stripe configuration to get 2 gigs of storage. The next viable option for me would be a mirror, but this won't get more storage for me. Is returning my hard drives for bigger ones my only option? If I mirror the two 1 gig drives and then add more drives later, do I use the additional drives and extend the current ZFS volume or can I have an additional ZFS Pool? Which would be better? How would the storage appear on the network? As two separate drives?

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
You could use them as separate pools, if you don't value your data. If you value your data, read the hardware recommendations sticky, as well as Cyberjock's beginners' guide. Again, if you value your data, use something like RAIDZ2.

If you have two separate pools, they can only be addressed as two separate drives.

joeschmuck

Old Man
You can use UFS formatted drives vice ZFS which will generally give you a quicker speed in files transfers at the cost of a better sumcheck solution. You can create individual RAIDZ1 hard drives as well and as explained above, there is no redundancy which appears to be fine with you for your requirements. Those are your only two options for your intent.