Introduction: Hello from The Netherlands!

daantje20

Cadet
From the end of 2017 till recently I have been using a NAS. As a Support Professional (yay for buzzwords) in the software industry I am not really an engineer of sorts.
The Synology NAS served me well, but I was seeking a middle ground between good storage solution and flexibility of adding on extra services.

So after some searching I took the plunge and ordered myself some components and do a TrueNAS Core my own way. (I had tried to work with a Linux based solution too).

Hardware (600 euros):
CPU: Intel Core i3 - 9100
Platform: Asrock DeskMini 310
RAM: 16 GB (Crucial CT2K8G4SFRA266)
Data Storage: 2x WD20SPZX (2 TB 2.5" SMR)
System drive: Crucial P2 256GB

As you can see from the above none of it is recommended, no ECC RAM and SMR disks, completely bonkers. But my word does it run well. I do run backups with duplicati, so if things go south I will have a copy of the most important files.

Tinkering with computers is good fun, for me the NAS is quite serious but I wanted small en relatively quiet solution. I am almost 40 years old and I have a wife and two kids (5 and 3 years old). Next to a 40h/w dayjob there is little time left to tinker.

Feel free to comment, I can take it. Thank you ixsystems for making this great software available to tinkerers and homelabs.

ornias

Wizard
As you can see from the above none of it is recommended, no ECC RAM and SMR disks, completely bonkers. But my word does it run well. I do run backups with duplicati, so if things go south I will have a copy of the most important files.
SMR runs well, till you need to run a rebuild. Then shit hits the fan.

Arwen

MVP