install URbackup in a jail

cellardoor

Dabbler
Joined
Jul 21, 2017
Messages
25
If you use this way of starting urbackup you will not have the ability using:
service urbackupsrv restart or stop or start
I use this startup script in /etc/rc.d/urbackupsrv:

#!/bin/sh
. /etc/rc.subr
name=urbackupsrv
rcvar=urbackupsrv_enable
command="/usr/local/bin/${name}"
command_args="run -d -g 104857600 -u root"
start_precmd="cd /usr/local/var"
load_rc_config $name
run_rc_command "$1"

To get it run:

nano /etc/rc.d/backupsrv

than copy/paste the script into this file, save and exit.

than give executive permission to the script with:

chmod +x /etc/rc.d/urbackupsrv

You have to enable urbackupsrv in /etc/rc.conf with

nano /etc/rc.conf

and add the line:

urbackupsrv_enable="YES"

save and exit

service urbackupsrv restart should work.

Did anybody solved the the problem of not beeing able to
mount raw images if running urbackup in an iocage jail
using copy-on-write raw image backups with ZFS?

It is working and for every backup wether file or image it
creates an new dataset but I cannot mount it.
 

cellardoor

Dabbler
Joined
Jul 21, 2017
Messages
25
Thanks for the reply.
I know that we have to leave the normal path to do this.
But we are on zfs. Perhaps there is a new way to discover.
Make a copy and set it as share or mount it in Proxmox
and ..... there are much more skilled people here arround than me.
As far as I know: the server and client port will install
urbackup only in the normal way.

uh.. sorry i am totally blind.
i will try:
https://forums.urbackup.org/t/can-a-backup-file-in-raw-format-be-started-directly-by-qemu-kvm/4884
sorry again
 
Last edited:

hervon

Patron
Joined
Apr 23, 2012
Messages
353
ByteNick. Did you install it in a warden jail (old way) or in a iocage jail (new GUI) ? I have it in a warden. I know in the future i'll to migrate to iocage.
 

hervon

Patron
Joined
Apr 23, 2012
Messages
353
Last edited:

Thario

Dabbler
Joined
Mar 4, 2019
Messages
10
If you use this way of starting urbackup you will not have the ability using:
service urbackupsrv restart or stop or start
I use this startup script in /etc/rc.d/urbackupsrv:

#!/bin/sh
. /etc/rc.subr
name=urbackupsrv
rcvar=urbackupsrv_enable
command="/usr/local/bin/${name}"
command_args="run -d -g 104857600 -u root"
start_precmd="cd /usr/local/var"
load_rc_config $name
run_rc_command "$1"

To get it run:

nano /etc/rc.d/backupsrv

than copy/paste the script into this file, save and exit.

than give executive permission to the script with:

chmod +x /etc/rc.d/urbackupsrv

You have to enable urbackupsrv in /etc/rc.conf with

nano /etc/rc.conf

and add the line:

urbackupsrv_enable="YES"

save and exit

service urbackupsrv restart should work.

Did anybody solved the the problem of not beeing able to
mount raw images if running urbackup in an iocage jail
using copy-on-write raw image backups with ZFS?

It is working and for every backup wether file or image it
creates an new dataset but I cannot mount it.

I did exacly as you instructed and it was throwing an error "cd /usr/local/var" does not exist.
I basically don't know what im doing, but changed var to bin and it finaly seems to work.

Should I set in dataset permissions any user/group?
Also in /usr/local/etc/urbackup/urbackupsrv.conf should user be 'root' or as default 'urbackup'?
 

badirontree

Cadet
Joined
Jul 11, 2019
Messages
2
Any way to install the last version of Freenas ?
I can not make the Jail manual ... (fail to download urbackup)
 

hervon

Patron
Joined
Apr 23, 2012
Messages
353
I'm on UrBackup 2.4.3 beta right now. Picked it from this link
 

badirontree

Cadet
Joined
Jul 11, 2019
Messages
2
Its compatible with 11.2.U5?
I just made a new FreeNas server to backup 3-4 windows 10 pcs and I am looking for a basic backup solution...
 

hervon

Patron
Joined
Apr 23, 2012
Messages
353
Yep. I'm on FreeNAS-11.2-U5. No issue here.
 

hervon

Patron
Joined
Apr 23, 2012
Messages
353
FYI I'm on 11.2-U6 running the latest server beta 2.4.8 and everything works fine. Urbackup rules. ;-)
 

hervon

Patron
Joined
Apr 23, 2012
Messages
353
Yet another update. I'm on 11.2-U6 running the latest server 2.4.9 (non beta) and everything works fine.
 

podo

Dabbler
Joined
Sep 5, 2016
Messages
10
Hi all,
I have a question.
Running TrueNAS, version TrueNAS-12.0-U4 . Urbackup server is installed in iocage jail (/mnt/vol1/iocage/jails/uRBACKUP/). The storage is mounted in the urbackup in /mnt/uRBACKUP.
All seems to be working, but I see the actual backup data twice. One copy in the jail (/mnt/vol1/iocage/jails/uRBACKUP/root/mnt/uRBACKUP/) and one copy in the SMB share Truenas is exporting to the clients (/mnt/vol1/set1/backup/uRBACKUP/)
Please is this OK ? Are the data really twice on the disk ?

Thanks in advance,
regards,
Podo
 
Last edited:
Top