SOLVED Install text editor in container (Wordpress or other)

slacks425

Dabbler
Hello,
I'm migrating some apps from an old Synology to my new TrueNAS Scale server. I'm still learning and have a lot to learn, but it's frustrating how I can get stuck on little things sometimes.
While migrating some Wordpress sites, I faced the upload limit of 2MB (when my backup is >300MB). Easy fix, I can edit the wp-config.php file to increase that. But once in the Shell of Wordpress (official version), I found wp-config.php but I have no way to edit the file. I tried vi, nano, vim, emacs, nothing seams install for that in the container. I tried apt-get update, apt-get install nano, but it's not allowed (permission issue).
How to solve that easily? Can I mount the container volume from a Linux PC somehow? Can I install a text editor in another way?
I shouldn't be the first to have this issue? (I found one guy with the same issue but he was using the Truecharts version, and the thread end up unsolved).
Thanks in advance for any help.

danb35

Hall of Famer
If you're using the TrueCharts version of the app, there's a checkbox for "Codeserver" in the app configuration--I'd expect that installs VS Code Server with your app for this purpose, though I haven't had occasion to use it thus far. No idea how you'd do it in the "official" app.

slacks425

Dabbler
Ok I didn't want to use TrueCharts for my 2 main apps (Nextcloud and Wordpress) and stick with official which should hopefully be more stable and not broken by update.
My workaround for Wordpress is to create folder for data, db and dbbackup and point to it, then I can edit in SSH with root user directly. But in the end it didn't solve my issue that was to increase the maximum upload size, this I could resolve with a Wordpress plugin, strange but it worked. Wordress is not fully migrated, except I still have issue with recreating the SSL certificate from Let's Encrypt in Nginx. Still working on this now.