Initial setup of drives. Sorry for the length

Status
Not open for further replies.

TapRackPull

Dabbler
I realize there will be as many opinions as there are options, however, I am new to servers, and setting them up. Currently, I have a desktop with a 1TB drive that is out of space. It has been shared over my network for music and movie streaming. I intend to use this desktop and convert it permanently into my server. For that purpose I have 3x2TB drives ready to go to set up a raid array of some kind. What type of array should I choose is the basic question of this post. UFS vs ZFS. Hardware vs Software. All opinions are welcome, but let's keep things civilized please.

Here are my requirements (in some order of importance)
Expandability. - I have no interest in having a system that is a PITA to expand. I prefer the idea of just slide in a new drive assign it to an array and walk away.
Read Speed. - Since much of this will be for streaming Blu-Ray over the network, read speed is critical for me. I suspect all raid versions will meet this criteria
Unmanaged. - I do not want to spend hours a week tweaking the settings to maintain performance.
Failure Tolerance. - There will be nothing on this system that can not be replaced. That said, I would prefer for it to be able to rebuild itself in the event of drive failure. Raid 0 is not an option... But, by the same token I have no need for mirrored sets. The server does not need to be up 24/7/365 if a problem crops up, I will take it down until I can replace the drive.
Maximize Available Space. - Pretty much self explanitory.

The only other thing I need to understand is how to get the data from the 1TB to the newly built array. Bear in mind that it is currently built into the system that will become my NAS. Is there an option to transfer this data inside FreeNAS that I am missing? OR do I need to attach the drive to my laptop and copy the data through the network? :eek:!!! GOD I HOPE NOT!!!!