Infuriatiing SMB issue

robodanhereford

Dabbler
Ok, so I am a noob, but I have the freenas all setup and working well with my movie & photo collection streaming to my kodi device, all in all very happy with that.

I had a bright idea of being able to backup my photos from my iPhone to me nice shiny NAS and I relaised I own a program called Photosync which is able to connect to a SMB share... Perfect :)

So I fill in all the details (ip address, username password etc) click done and I get the following error:

530: User not logged in. Permission denied.

Ok so I try my root login username & pwd instead, click done and great it connects :) odd but what the hell. So now I get to choose the destination folder, at this point I mostly get an endless searching with nothing happening or on occasions it will see all my shares, but when I click on the photos share it again just endlessly searches....

So guys, any idea why the same logon details that work in Kodi do not work in this app? Or why will it login with the root details but still not be able to browse the share?

I am tempted to start the whole box again, ive undoubtedly made mistakes along the way but I could do without re-transferring in my 400GB of movies (photos ive just started)

Cheers guys :)

robodanhereford

Dabbler
I tried this but I’m still stuck with the same problem.

I think I will re install free and and start again. It’s still early enough to be doable and with your video I can make sure the shares and users are all setup correctly

PeterWeyland

Dabbler
Ok, so I am a noob, but I have the freenas all setup and working well with my movie & photo collection streaming to my kodi device, all in all very happy with that.

I had a bright idea of being able to backup my photos from my iPhone to me nice shiny NAS and I relaised I own a program called Photosync which is able to connect to a SMB share... Perfect :)