Hi there, I have
FreeNas-11.2-U6
Running on this server (not VM)
Intel® Server System P4308CP4MHEN
Intel® Server Board S2600CP4
2x Intel® Xeon® Processor E5-2670
Micron 32GB (4x 8GB) mt36kszf1g72pz-1g4d1dd
6x4TB Seagate NAS HDD ST4000VN000 4TB 64MB Cache in RAIDZ2

I need to expand the pool now, it's getting close to 90% capacity (I know that's not good)
I've googled it and usually get two stories
1# It's possible and safe to add one or more HDD's at a time.
2# It's only possible to add the same amount of driver and they must be the same type.
2.1# I have ST4000VN000 now but I can only buy ST4000VN008 now, is that ok?

But most of those results were "old" and I wasn't sure if the FreeNas had changed.
What are my options, and what would be recommended?
I'm new to this whole NAS thing btw.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
1# It's possible and safe to add one or more HDD's at a time.
Not correct. DO NOT DO THIS. This will result in your pool becoming a stripe of your RAIDZ2 VDEV and the single disk VDEV that you add, which will mean loss of all pool data if the single disk fails.

2# It's only possible to add the same amount of driver and they must be the same type.
Not true, but it's usually recommended to add VDEVs at least of the same type (RAIDZ2 in your case, so at minimum 4 disks).
Adding a RAIDZ2 VDEV of different number and size of disks is perfectly acceptable.

2.1# I have ST4000VN000 now but I can only buy ST4000VN008 now, is that ok?
Any disk model is OK (provided you are comfortable that it will meet your reliability and performance needs)... FreeNAS will work with whatever you give to it.

You could also just replace the disks with larger ones 1 by 1.

Jessep

Patron
If you are not familiar with SMR please research it. SMR disks are not appropriate for use in FreeNAS, make sure any disks you choose are not SMR.

ARKansans

Dabbler
Not true, but it's usually recommended to add VDEVs at least of the same type (RAIDZ2 in your case, so at minimum 4 disks).