I need help understanding NFS Mounts

Status
Not open for further replies.

Raksasas

Dabbler
I have been using SMB mounts for a few years now. I am wanting to move my daily linux systems over to use NFS over SMB. I have already created the NFS shares under "Sharing -> Unix (NFS). I have made sure "nfs-common" is installed on my local systems. I have also ran "sudo mount 192.X.X.X:/mnt/misfits/files /home/raksasas/nas-files". It appears that it is read-only because went I "touch nas-files/test123" I am getting permission deny. Now after doing some reading on it I have to create accounts on my FreeNAS system matching the accounts on my local system. Is this correct? Now, this bothers me a little bit or maybe I am just being lazy. I do not want to create new accounts for all my systems in FreeNAS. I used different accounts on all of them. Now I understand having separate accounts for my wife/kids. Is there a way to get away with only one account (FreeNAS side) and still be able to use different accounts on the local machine? Like for SMB I just use the same commands/credentials file with some tweaks here and there across my systems.

Thanks. (Probably will not be around the rest of the day to check/respond).

Raksasas

Dabbler

Sorry just now getting back to this. I have looked at the link you provided. I get that it gives permissions based off of UID's. It doesn't give any mention of using groups and I am presuming user groups. I do not want to go the "all_squash" method. I did find the following... I guess I will review it in the morning and maybe get some insight to what I want to accomplish.

https://www.rootusers.com/how-to-provide-nfs-shares-for-group-collaboration/

https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/map-nfs-clients-to-servers-owner-group.45319/

Raksasas

Dabbler
Am I on the right track with the following? Example GID is 2001. Is there any best practices for creating the GIDs?

1. I need to create a group on FreeNAS with GID 2001