I assume my memory is bad?

ethereal

Guru
I had huge problems getting my server to boot correctly today there was also a problem 28 days ago when i updated truenas.
i got this email both times:-

TrueNAS @ freenas.local

New alerts:
* Memory #0x08 Asserted Correctable ECC (@DIMM1B(CPU1)).

Current alerts:
* freenas.local had an unscheduled system reboot.
The operating system successfully came back online at Thu Jan 14 09:34:23 2021.

this is my only server and i have zero experience in fault finding ecc memory. i assume that one stick is bad?
now that i am fully booted should i wait until the next time i need to reboot before taking action? or should i take action immediately. power down the server remove the stick and start it again?

thank you
mark

Heracles

Wizard
or should i take action immediately

Every time you end up with difficulties like this, update your backups. In case your situation degrade to an even worst problem, your backups can save your life.

So keep the system running, update your backups and then we will check at that hardware problem.

ethereal

Guru
Every time you end up with difficulties like this, update your backups. In case your situation degrade to an even worst problem, your backups can save your life.

So keep the system running, update your backups and then we will check at that hardware problem.
what checks would you recommend?

Heracles

Wizard
Because the suspect is RAM, memtest is probably the first to be run. Create yourself a bootable USB key with memtest and have it run for at least a few runs, if you can for a few days. See if it does detect problems or not.

ethereal

Guru
Because the suspect is RAM, memtest is probably the first to be run. Create yourself a bootable USB key with memtest and have it run for at least a few runs, if you can for a few days. See if it does detect problems or not.
both emails said Memory #0x08 Asserted Correctable ECC (@DIMM1B(CPU1)). which is DIMM1B couldn't i just remove that stick ?