Hyper-V Advice

I'm new to TrueNAS and have spent many hours reading threads regarding iSCSI and Hyper-V. I've learned a lot but haven't found anything relating to my exact use case and am looking for some advice.

I have a Supermicro server with 16 x 8TB drives with 2 LSI HBAs and an Intel 10Gb NIC that I plan to use for VHD storage for a Hyper-V server. The server is used exclusively for backups and will host 2 VHDs that are each 20-30TB to start. It is backed up to 4 times a day with 2-20GB of changes per VHD per backup.

I had initially planned to use TrueNAS as an iSCSI target but after reading jgreco's many posts on the subject I'm not sure if that's a good idea. I understand the issues with eventual fragmentation using iSCSI and am wondering if I should expect to eventually have a lot of fragmentation with the VHDs as incremental backups inside the VHDs are merged and deleted over time. Alternatively would I be better off going with SMB 3? Most of the posts I find relating to Hyper-V and SMB 3 on TrueNAS are years old so I'm not sure what the current guidance is on that.

I had initially planned to set up a RAID60 for 96TB usable but after reading about vdevs and IOPS I'm wondering if anyone has a different recommendation. I'm also wondering how much I would benefit from a SLOG in this scenario since it would seem like a lot of the writes would be largish and sequential. I don't currently have any SSDs that would be appropriate for this but can get them if that is recommended.

I've got 48GB RAM in the server right now but can add another 48GB if recommended. Since I won't be doing many reads I wasn't sure if that was necessary.