HowTo: Using ZFS Autobackup with Scale

sfatula

Guru
For those you may be familiar with ZFS Autobackup: https://github.com/psy0rz/zfs_autobackup I've been using this setup for around 8 months now without issue.

I find this to be far superior to basic replication as used in Scale for various reasons. With my slow uploads to offsite replication machine, I'd found at least every month Scale basic replication wanting to restart the whole thing from scratch if my internet connection dropped and something got corrupted, which it does now and then. When it's more than 1TB, that's not good. Then there are the issues with using encryption, and encryption roots and such, no issue at all with ZFS autobackup. It also is able to restart a failed replication where it left off. It also easily handles multiple backup sets of the same datasets without any issues or worrying about snapshots affecting each other. You can also easily pick which datasets you want to replicate without a separate job for each. And so on. This is more for those ZFS folks who may be familiar with this backup tool, or for those who may need a tool to replace the Scale method if it isn't working for them. This method is to install the tool on Scale, but not within kubernetes. This is how to install it, not how to use the tool, for that see the doc in on the github site.

For purposes of these instructions, INSTALLDIR = the directory you are installing the tool in, which should be located on a dataset (or subdirectory of course) so that it is persistent.

With these instructions, we do not modify anything installed by Scale, no additional packages, etc.