How to re-attach a drive to an encrypted pool?

Eld

Cadet
Hi,

I have an encrypted pool that is comprised of a 2 disk mirror. I'm new to ZFS so wanted to check redundancy. I shut down, removed one of the disks, and rebooted. The pool was degraded, but accessible. All good.

However, after shutting down again and re-inserting the disk I had removed, the disk then showed as "unused" and the pool remains degraded.

I've managed to re-attach the drive using some of the commands described in this blog post, but it appears to be resilvering the whole drive (which seems unnecessary as the drive already contained all the data).

What's the recommended way to re-attach an (encrypted) mirror to a pool, and Is it possible to do withoput resilvering the whole drive?

Thanks for any pointers/advice!

Thund3rDuck

Explorer
Hey there, unfortunately if you remove a drive and then reattach, it will need to be resilvered. During the time that it was absent from the pool, data changes and they no longer match up. The resilvering process stripes the data out and rebuilds the pool or in the case of a mirror, it mirrors the data from the other drive. It doesn't matter the raid type, this will always be the case. Also, you should be able to detach and reattach directly from the GUI without running any commands.

Reactions: Eld

Eld

Cadet
Thanks for your reply!

I understand that a disk that is absent from a pool then re-inserted will need to be resilvered. However, the files in the pool in question were not modified while the drive was removed (its only file storage), so I would have thought that resilvering should take only a short amount of time (verifying contents matches) rather than as if the drive was completely new (re-copying the entire contents), if I had done things correctly.