How to create directory on/in OS disk?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Enchanted14

Dabbler
Hello,

I am new to FreeNAS and FreeBSD but am not a novice to computing. I have built a FreeNAS box, have installed the FreeNAS OS, have it up and running with Plex Media installed and working. My issue is that I am using an Intel i217 NIC which FreeNAS supports but in a limited manner. As far as I can tell the NIC is only running at 100Mbps but is a 1000Mbps device. Additionally WOL and Jumbo Frames are not enabled. So I would like to correct these short comings.

I have located a FreeBSD driver for the NIC on the Intel website and would like to install it in my FreeNAS installation which I made on a USB stick. My hope is that this driver would enable the WOL function. The documentation for installing the driver assumes that the user has a fair degree of FreeBSD knowledge from the start which I admit I do not but I am capable of following instructions and I come from the days of old DOS command line usage so I believe I am up to the task of doing this.

The driver documentation states that the driver should not be installed in the root kernel but rather used as a loadable module from a directory of the users choice. I get that but what I cannot figure out is

1. How do I choose or create a directory for this purpose?

2. Is there or would there be a preferable directory to use for this?

3. The driver tar file is at present on a USB stick, (not the OS install stick). What command would be used to cp the tar file from the USB stick to the directory of choice?

4. All directories I have managed to navigated to are Read Only so to write to them is not possible. How do you address or get around this?