[How-To] Create a LimeSurvey Iocage Jail

adrianwi

Guru
freebsd-limesurvey-jail.jpg

INTRODUCTION

Before we begin, I'm really no expert when it comes to this stuff, so most of what I've 'learnt' to put together this guide has come from other threads on this forum (e.g. here) and from Google searches. If you attempt this and it doesn't work, I may not be able to help you troubleshoot very far, so be warned!

LimeSurvey, as the name would suggest, is an open-source online survey tool which can be used to create some really great surveys. Think of it as your own SurveyMonkey without any of the limitations that you might get trying to use the free version. It probably takes a little more time to get your head around the user interface, but once you have I'd say it was even more powerful and much more customisable.

I've built and run a number of surveys on mine, although the first jail I built was using a 11.1-RELEASE template that just wouldn't upgrade to 11.3. That gave me a perfect opportunity to rebuild it and document the process, hence this guide :)

INSTALLATION

CONFIGURATION

CHANGES

Last edited:

adrianwi

Guru
INSTALLATION

Create iocage jail

I think it's easier to do this in a WUI now, so here's a screenshot of my settings:

jail-settings.jpg

You can also do it from the CLI, ideally using SSH so you can copy and paste commands across.

Code:
iocage create --name '<JAIL_NAME>' -r 13.1-RELEASE ip4_addr='vnet0|<JAIL_IP>/24' defaultrouter='<IPV4_DEFAULT_GATEWAY>'
vnet='on' allow_raw_sockets='1' boot='on'

Replace:

<JAIL_NAME> with the name you want the iocage jail to have (I have used 'limesurvey')
<JAIL_IP> with the IP address you want the jail to have, within a useable range
<IPV4_DEFAULT_GATEWAY> with the value in Network > Global Configuration

Console into jail

Code:
iocage console limesurvey

Install packages

It's probably worth updating the jail before you start

Code:
pkg update
pkg upgrade

Code:
pkg install mariadb103-server