How to "connect" docker containers while using the "Launch Docker Image"-functionality?

SnoppyFloppy

Explorer
Hi

I come from docker/docker-compose and I'm new to Kubernetes.

I want to deploy two containers using the "Launch Docker Image"-functionality. One container being an maria-db and the other being an app that relies on the db during deployment.

The app-image has an env. variable "DB_HOST" where, in docker, I would just specity the name of the db-container and if I put the the containers on the same custom bridge network, the app could reach the db using dockers internal DNS.

During the TrueNAS deployment I don't see an option to put the containers on the same internal network, and though I specified the env. var. DB_HOST=<DB app. name> the app is unable to contact the db and thus fails to deploy.

I found this within the truecharts documentation. but using <DB app. name>.ix-<DB app. name>.svc.cluster.local or <DB app. name>.ix-<DB app. name> doesn't resolve my problem.

Any advises?

jsclayton

Dabbler
I've had the same issues, even on 21.06 beta. I'm pretty sure that it's a configuration issue or two within k3s, but haven't been able to track it down.

The first issue seems to be that the host's DNS is being set in the containers launched via the "Launch Docker Image" button. If I shell in to a container and cat /etc/resolv.conf it shows the host's DNS server and no search domains. I also see DNS lookups to the svc domains in my pihole logs (which is the host DNS server).

However if I run the command from this post and check the DNS settings it looks like this, which is what I'd expect it to look like:

Code:
nameserver 172.17.0.10
search default.svc.cluster.local svc.cluster.local cluster.local
options ndots:5

From within that busybox instance I can resolve and ping <name>-ix-chart.ix-<name>, which does not work in the other containers.