How to Configure FreeNAS for PXE or use it as a TFTP server to house the ISO images

Status
Not open for further replies.

Draconis

Cadet
Hi Everyone,

I'm a FreeNAS and PXE beginner. I was hoping if someone could help me with setting up a PXE server. I know that FreeNAS can become a TFTP server. This is my setup.

FreeNAS Setup:
1. 1 ZFS volume with all 4 disks named /mnt/Storage.
2. 1 ZFS Dataset named /mnt/Storage/tftproot shared through CIFS as TFTP_Root. I set up the CIFS share so it would be easier to copy files/ISOs over to FreeNAS.
3. Enabled TFTP and pointed it to the directory /mnt/Storage/tftproot with Allow New Files checkbox unchecked.

Is there anyway to make FreeNAS also a PXE server? If not, can I use CentOS 5.7 with pxelinux and point to the FreeNAS tftp? Does the image repository (ISOs) have to be local to the PXE server or can they be separated?

Thanks for any help.

Mark

ProtoSD

MVP
Hi Mark,

Someone asked this question here before. I seem to recall that the TFTP server with FreeBSD has some file size limit like 32mb? Anyway, it prevented serving some of the larger files needed for PXE. I used a FOG PXE server in a virtual machine and had it serve files from FreeNAS. The FOG PXE server is quite nice, if you don't know about it it's also on Sourceforge. It's a small Linux image with a nice menu system for serving up PXE images. It would be nice to port/integrate it into FreeNAS.

Draconis

Cadet
Wow...FOG is awesome. Gotta play with it sometime this week. Great find...thank you!!! It's like PXE on crack. It even has Storage Replication. Crazy stuff for free. But of course FreeNAS has also saved me from buying some wickedly expensive NAS Solution.

Thank you DEV Team for providing such an awesome product!

peterh

Patron
pxeboot is included ( at /boot/pxeboot )

an example ( dhcpd.conf ) :
# pxeboot alix
host alix {
hardware ethernet 00:0d:b9:14:90:fc;
fixed-address 192.168.99.22;
next-server 192.168.99.5;
filename "pxeboot";