How can I set up access from a Windows PC?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Razor981

Cadet
Hello,

I am completely new to FreeNAS. I installed it on my system and now it is running and I have access to the web interface. But how I need to set up FreeNAS now that I can access my HDDs from the Windows Explorer Network? I hope someone will help me.

Regards
Razor

Last edited by a moderator:

Razor981

Cadet
I am stuck now at the Storage. I just get "No entry has been found" in the Volumes. But my BIOS detecting my HDDs and Boot USB.

danb35

Hall of Famer
I just get "No entry has been found" in the Volumes.
Have you created a volume yet? If not, then you need to. If you're having trouble with that, you need to give a lot more information about what's going on--the forum rules, which you said you read and agreed to when you joined earlier today, give examples of the kind of information we need to be able to help you.

Razor981

Cadet
No I do not created a Volume because the HDD do not show up in FreeNAS. And here are my hardware specs:
MB: HP 656941-001
CPU: Pentium G2130 @ 3.2 Ghz
RAM: 16GB DDR3 RAM @ 1600Mhz
HDD: 2x1TB Samsung HDD 2x500GB Seagate HDD no Raid.

Linkman

Patron
Do the drives show up under [Storage tab]->[Volumes]->[Volume Manager]? Or on the left hand tree view [Storage]->[Volumes]->[View Disks]?

Razor981

Cadet
No the HDDs are completely away on FreeNAS. But they show up in BIOS. Did FreeNAS need a specific format? Or did I do something wrong at the installation?

garm

Wizard